Senate letter supporting the GLRI is still open; House GLRI letter closed with 46 Reps in support

A letter to U.S. House Appropriators indicating support for funding the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative at $300 million in 2015 is being finalized, with the sign on letter having closed on Friday. A total of 46 Representatives signed on, with at least one from each Great Lakes state. A set of sign on letters is still moving through the Senate, showing support for the GLRI, action on Asian carp, maintaining the coastal zone management program, dredging, and fisheries programs. Your Senator has until April 2 to sign on and you may contact them to urge them to sign on via the Capitol Switchboard at (202) 224-3121.

The Senate letters currently have five co-signers, Senators: Carl Levin (D-Mich.), Mark Kirk (R-Ill.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), Joe Donnelly (D-Ind.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), and Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.). Senator Bob Casey (D-Penn.) has agreed to sign on to letter for emergency measures against Asian carp in the Chicago waterway.


The current co-signers to the House letter, which has closed, are Reps.:

Rick Nolan (D-Minn.), Keith Ellison (D-Minn.), Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), Timothy Walz (D-Minn.), Gwen Moore (D-Wisc.), Reid Ribble (R-Wisc.), Ron Kind (D-Wisc.), Mark Pocan (D-Wisc.), Thomas Petri (R-Wisc.), Luis Gutierrez (D-Ill.), Danny Davis (D-Ill.), Dan Lipinski (D-Ill.), Jan Schakowsky (D-Ill.), Brad Schneider (D-Ill.), Mike Quigley (D-Ill.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Andre Carson (D-Ind.), John Dingell (D-Mich.), Sander Levin (D-Mich.), Dan Benishek (R-Mich.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), John Conyers (D-Mich.), Dan Kildee (D-Mich.), David Joyce (R-Ohio), Marcia Fudge (D-Ohio), Bill Johnson (R-Ohio), Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio), Tim Ryan (D-Ohio), Jim Renacci (R-Ohio), Matthew Cartwright (D-Penn.), Mike Kelly (R-Penn.), Louise Slaughter (D-N.Y.), Brian Higgins (D-N.Y.), Paul Tonko (D-N.Y.), Steve Israel (D-N.Y.), Tim Bishop (D-N.Y.), Dan Maffei (D-N.Y.), Bill Owens (D-N.Y.), Grace Meng (D-N.Y.), Charles Rangel (D-N.Y.), Carolyn McCarthy (D-N.Y.), Chris Collins (R-N.Y.), Chris Gibson (D-N.Y.), Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.), Alcee Hastings (D-Fla.), and Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Tex.).


If you see your Representative on this list, consider thanking them for signing on, via twitter.


This entry was posted in Take Action and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.