Great Laker Award Recipients

2010 – Buffalo
Lifetime Achievement: Margaret Wooster, Water Warrior
Citizen: Suzanne Dixon, Kalamazoo River Sturgeon for Tomorrow
Media: Mark Heckman, Author/Illustrator
Public Official: Honorable Paul Dyster, Niagara Falls Mayor
Business: Phil Enquist, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill

2009 – Duluth
Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Gary Fahnenstiel, NOAA Great Lakes Env. Research Laboratory
Citizen: Dave Zentner, MN Division – Izaak Walton League of America
Media: Jeff Alexander, Author, Pandora’s Locks
Public Official: The Honorable Barack Obama, President of the United States
Business: Detroit Regional Chamber

2008 – Milwaukee
Lifetime Achievement: Honorable Congressman John Frederick Seiberling Jr.
Citizen: Patricia Pennell, West Michigan Environmental Council
Media: Kamahria Hopkins, Rochester Democrat & Chronicle
Public Official: NONE
Business: NONE
Listen to your Lakes Campaign, Shedd Aquarium
Healthy Lakes Boat Tour, Peter Alexander, Wayne Jurs, Janice Littlefield

2007 – Chicago
Lifetime Achievement: Arnold Overby
Citizen: John Trimberger
Media: Dan Egan, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Public Official: Rahm Emmanuel, Mark Kirk
Business: Meijer, Inc.

2006 – Cleveland
Lifetime Achievement: Peter Wege, The Wege Foundation
Citizen: Lee Botts, Save the Dunes
Media: Tom Henry, Toledo Blade
Public Official: Ohio Governor Bob Taft and New York Governor George Pataki

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *